Lightroom 3 Beta's Publish Services - Part 2

PSIcon2.jpgIn Part 1 we examined how to use Publish Services to control target folders on the hard drive using the Hard Drive Publish Connection.

There's another Publish Service that comes with Lightroom 3 Beta. The Flickr Publish Service allows us to connect Lightroom to a Flickr account (or multiple Flickr accounts) and manage our photostream from within Lightroom. However, there are some pitfalls to watch out for. Remember, this is beta software, so as you come across issues or areas that can be improved please join the conversation over at the Adobe Forums and tell the Lightroom team about it. You can help make this a great release!

We start by creating the connection to Flickr. Click on the Set up... on the right side of the Flickr bar in Publish Services.

flickr.jpg

That brings up the Lightroom Publishing Manager we saw in Part 1.

LPM Flickr.jpg

The two differences here are the Flickr Account section and the Privacy and Safety section. Privacy and Safety are pretty self explanatory and relate to how the images are displayed in your Flickr account.

To make the connection press the Log In button. This brings up the authorization dialog. In order for Lightroom to be able to connect to your Flickr account, you need to grant permission to Lightroom from your Flickr account.

Flickr Auth.jpg

Click the Authorize button and your browser will open and take you to Flickr. If you are not already logged into your Flickr account, login and you will see the authorization screen.

flickr screen 1.jpg

Since you came here from Lightroom click the NEXT button in the right side box.

flickr screen 2.jpg

Flickr reminds you of what giving permissions to Lightroom means. Click the OK, I'LL AUTHORIZE IT button.

Flickr Services.jpg

If all has gone well then Flickr will bring you to the success screen. You can now close your browser. When you return to Lightroom where the final dialog is waiting for you.

flickr done.jpg

Click Done and you will see that the connection has been established.

flickr logged in.jpg

Click the Save button and you will see your Photostream connection in the Flickr Publish Service.

photostream.jpg

Whew! Now you can control your Photostream from Lightroom. Drag and drop some images onto your Photostream then click on it to see the Publish window. Click the Publish button to upload them to Flickr. You will see them in the Published photos section.

flickr published.jpg

If we check our Photostream on Flickr we find that they are there!

Flickr Your Photostream-1.jpg

Pretty neat, eh? Wait. It get's better. If someone makes a comment on your image in Flickr those comments will attach themselves to the image in your Lightroom catalog! No, really!

flickr comment.jpg

Here's a comment entered in Flickr. Now press the Publish button again. Select the image and check the Comments section on the right side panel.

Lightroom comments.jpg

There's the comment we entered on Flicker. You can also enter comments here that will upload to Flickr. We can also see how many times this image has been made a favorite.

We can also create sets in Flickr right in Lightroom. This is as simple as creating a Photoset under the Flickr Publish Service. Right click on the Flickr bar and choose Create Photoset...

photoset.jpg

If we add some images to this Photoset and click the Publish button a new set will be created on our Flickr account.

set.jpg

As more online Publish Services are added this will become a very powerful feature and workflow tool!

Now for a few warnings! I warned you that this is BETA software. If you delete an image from your Flickr account online it will be forever stuck in the Photos to be deleted section of your Flickr Publish Service! Only delete images published via Lightroom using Lightroom! That will keep your catalog and your Flickr account in synch.

There is also a difference between how Lightroom interacts with Flickr STANDARD accounts and Flickr PRO accounts. With a standard account you CANNOT edit an image and republish it to Flickr. That's a limitation of Flickr's API. Delete the image from your Flickr Publish Service, make the adjustment, add it back and Publish.

If you have a PRO account you CAN republish images. When you make a change the image will move to the Re-Publish section. Click the Publish button and the changes will be uploaded to Flickr.

There are lot's of ways to put Rule #5 into practice with this new beta. so get out there and enjoy!